What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NFL Rulebook Gurus (1 Viewer)

RageRhino

Footballguy
what would be the ruling if a quarterback fumbled the ball out of the back of his own endzone, resulting in a safety.

Does this go as a fumble lost? what would be the statistical ruling.

Trying to figure out if this happened would a player lose points for a lost fumble or not.

any help is greatly appreciated.

 
what would be the ruling if a quarterback fumbled the ball out of the back of his own endzone, resulting in a safety. Does this go as a fumble lost? what would be the statistical ruling.Trying to figure out if this happened would a player lose points for a lost fumble or not.any help is greatly appreciated.
That is not a rules question. That is a statistics question. The rulebook states this is worth 2 points.
 
I'd guess that its a fumble lost because that team would be forced to give up the ball on a free kick, but this is an excellent question.
I'm not 100% certain, but I would go with the analogy of a "team sack" here. The opposing team would have a fumble recovery, but no individual would, much like a QB stepping out of the end zone or out of bounds behind the line of scrimmage is a sack and is credited to the defensive team if no defender is close to him.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Is the question whether it is credited as a fumble for fantasy defense purposesd?

There is no fumble recovery by the opposing team.

I would guess, actually, that it is a fumble by the QB, but it is not credited a FR by the defense. So, if you penalize QBs for fumbles, he gets the fumble, but the defense does not get credit for the FR.

Also, I would guess, statistically, the play would go: fumble, no fumble recovery, safety.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
It's not a fumble lost since his team recovered it. If the other team had jumped on it, it would've been a TD, THAT would've been a fumble lost, IMO.

 
what would be the ruling if a quarterback fumbled the ball out of the back of his own endzone, resulting in a safety. Does this go as a fumble lost? what would be the statistical ruling.Trying to figure out if this happened would a player lose points for a lost fumble or not.any help is greatly appreciated.
lost fumblethe point is he didn't regain posession. Fumbles are all about posession or lack thereof
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top