If you as a defender (illegally) kick or bat the ball forward from the end zone into the field of play, why wouldn't that be a safety? The spot of the foul is in the end zone. If the defense commits a penalty that would ordinarily result in a safety, the offense gets one point.GregR said:But if you kick the ball out and let the other team recover and you tackle them short of the goal, then they'd get the penalty and retry the PAT.
On a Try, the offense = Team A. Team B can never possess the ball since the play ends immediately in that case.I note that "offense" is defined in the NFL rulebook to mean the team in possession of the ball.
Last edited by a moderator: