What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

Welcome to Our Forums. Once you've registered and logged in, you're primed to talk football, among other topics, with the sharpest and most experienced fantasy players on the internet.

Paris (1 Viewer)

ex-ghost

Footballguy
Headed out on a vacation to Spain to visit our daughter who is on a quarter abroad. Part of the trip is a 10 hour layover in Paris. I've been researching what to do in the 5ish hours that we can be in the city. General plan is to hang out and take in the sights, maybe take a one hour boat ride on the Seine. One thing my wife really wants to do is find a cafe and watch the sights. We plan on taking the train to the Notre Dame stop. Any suggestions on a great cafe that is close by where we can watch Paris come and go?

Les Deux Magots is pretty close, I went there for breakfast everyday when I was there

I’m no Paris expert though, but I think that would fit what you are looking for

Sounds like you want to take an RER train from CDG into the city and then back to CDG.  I suggest that you travel light and don't have a roll aboard during that 10 hour period. 

RER can sometimes be maddeningly slow. As you get into the airport, try and see if there are delays in that line into the city.   You can always take a taxi there or back. 

As for a cafe, eh, IMO they're all kinda the same.  I don't have a rec. There is a good ice cream place near Notre Dame (ile saint louis i think) if the weather is nice.  Just looked it... Berthillon.

I do like doing brunch in the Latin quarter and I think the food there is some of the best in the city for walk up eating. 

I think Paris is the most beautiful city in the world.  Do say bonjour, bon soire, and ask "parle vous anglais?" if you don't speak French.  It goes a long way toward Parisians being nice to tourists.  I've been maybe 5x and only once has someone been rude to me even though I don't speak French.