What's new
Fantasy Football - Footballguys Forums

This is a sample guest message. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone have Edgerrin James (1 Viewer)

strong

Footballguy
I know Yahoo didn't give it to him...

It sounded like from those watching the game that the refs ruled that he crossed the goal line with the ball and they overturned the call on the field...

But nfl.com still isn't crediting him. It still gives Reggie Wells a fumble recovery...

What gives?

 
According to the recap on nfl.com, it was initially scored as a fumble and recovery by Wells, but changed to a TD by Edge on the review. The stats still list it as a TD for Wells though. Check back after they release the scoring changes for the week.

 
"Rams coach Scott Linehan challenged the play, which was later reversed to a James touchdown. Referee Gerry Austin told a pool reporter that a subsequent replay angle showed that James' elbow was down before the ball came out and that play should have resumed with a third-and-goal from 1."

For what it's worth...

 
All the game recaps and this NFL network video http://www.nfl.com/videos?videoId=09000d5d80311cce say that it was officially ruled an E. James TD. But none of the boxscores give him the TD. It doesnt look like he scored but if it was officially rules a TD on the field id assume that it will be changed in the boxscore and fantasy leagues sites sometime this week. Edge owners should expext another 6 in the next day or 2. :excited:

 
We've received some e-mails on Edgerrin James' non-touchdown at St. Louis asking if James actually did score. Without the benefit of video replay, I'll run down the play: With just under four minutes to play in the first half, the Cardinals had the ball on the Rams' 6. James ran inside on second-and-goal for five yards, then fumbled into the end zone, where it was recovered by Cards guard Reggie Wells for a touchdown. That's what the referees ruled it, and that's what they upheld after a review. However, it was clear to me that a Rams defender (I think it was CB Ronald Bartell) recovered it in the end zone, then got mugged by Wells. Bartell had possession first and was touched by a Cardinal, thus, in theory, giving the Rams the ball back at their own 20. But that wasn't ruled as such by the referees. But James didn't even fumble in the first place! James' elbow was down before he even fumbled the ball, so it should have been third-and-goal from the St. Louis 1, neither a Rams touchback nor a Cardinals touchdown. That also wasn't ruled as such by the referees. The referees ruled it as a touchdown for Wells, though I don't know what play they saw on their HD instant replay screen in their funky little voting booth. Ultimately, for all you Edge owners, your RB did not officially score a touchdown in Week 5.
They haven't changed it yet btw-nor should they. Refs make mistakes, even with replay. You can't change it at this point as it's in the books.The truth is Edge never even scored a TD as it should have been 3rd and Goal from the 1 since his elbow was down before the fumble.Sorry guys-no Edge TD.You can't give a guy a TD when the fact is he never scored the TD to begin with.
 
We've received some e-mails on Edgerrin James' non-touchdown at St. Louis asking if James actually did score. Without the benefit of video replay, I'll run down the play: With just under four minutes to play in the first half, the Cardinals had the ball on the Rams' 6. James ran inside on second-and-goal for five yards, then fumbled into the end zone, where it was recovered by Cards guard Reggie Wells for a touchdown. That's what the referees ruled it, and that's what they upheld after a review. However, it was clear to me that a Rams defender (I think it was CB Ronald Bartell) recovered it in the end zone, then got mugged by Wells. Bartell had possession first and was touched by a Cardinal, thus, in theory, giving the Rams the ball back at their own 20. But that wasn't ruled as such by the referees. But James didn't even fumble in the first place! James' elbow was down before he even fumbled the ball, so it should have been third-and-goal from the St. Louis 1, neither a Rams touchback nor a Cardinals touchdown. That also wasn't ruled as such by the referees. The referees ruled it as a touchdown for Wells, though I don't know what play they saw on their HD instant replay screen in their funky little voting booth. Ultimately, for all you Edge owners, your RB did not officially score a touchdown in Week 5.
They haven't changed it yet btw-nor should they. Refs make mistakes, even with replay. You can't change it at this point as it's in the books.The truth is Edge never even scored a TD as it should have been 3rd and Goal from the 1 since his elbow was down before the fumble.Sorry guys-no Edge TD.You can't give a guy a TD when the fact is he never scored the TD to begin with.
I think everyone needs to understand that after Linehan Challenged the play, the Referee concluded that there was NO FUMBLE. The ruling was that Edge scored a TD and never fumbled. Edge Owners will be getting another 6 points. It's that simple.
 
I think everyone needs to understand that after Linehan Challenged the play, the Referee concluded that there was NO FUMBLE. The ruling was that Edge scored a TD and never fumbled. Edge Owners will be getting another 6 points. It's that simple.
Sorry but I don't see it as being that simple.The facts: The ref could not have concluded there was no fumble and Edge scored because Edge never even broke the plane to score a TD. If there was no fumble then it would have been 3rd and Goal from the 1 yard line. The replay on NFL.com clearly shows Edge wasn't even close to breaking the plane to score a TD (in the link posted above @ 1:30 if you want to see it for yourself).The questions: If the ref ruled there was no fumble then why was the challenge DENIED and the play on the field stood as called? What exactly did Linehan challenge? The fumble? Possession of the fumble by STL before the ARZ lineman stripped the ball out? Perhaps the ref worded it wrong when explaining why the challenge was DENIED and the play on the field STOOD as called? Does it matter what the ref says in his challenge explanation-IE will it effect the official scoring of the TD?The play: (3:48) 32-E.James right guard to STL 1 for 5 yards (51-W.Witherspoon). FUMBLES (51-W.Witherspoon), recovered by ARI-74-R.Wells at STL -5. TOUCHDOWN. Play Challenged by STL and Upheld. (Timeout #1 at 03:32.)The bottom line is the official ruling on the field (which was upheld with replay) was the ball was fumbled (prior to breaking the plane) and recovered by the ARZ lineman. The refs blew the call since there was no fumble to begin with. Edge cannot be credited with a TD when he clearly did not break the plane of the goal line.My take: It's a bogus play no matter how you look at it. Edge never broke the plane to score a TD, he was down before he fumbled, and to top it off the STL guy clearly had possession and was stripped of the ball by the ARZ lineman. Just give the lineman the TD and be done with it.Lastly isn't there a rule that says that the offense cannot advance the ball on a fumble? Or am I confused?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
The play: (3:48) 32-E.James right guard to STL 1 for 5 yards (51-W.Witherspoon). FUMBLES (51-W.Witherspoon), recovered by ARI-74-R.Wells at STL -5. TOUCHDOWN. Play Challenged by STL and Upheld. (Timeout #1 at 03:32.)The bottom line is the official ruling on the field (which was upheld with replay) was the ball was fumbled (prior to breaking the plane) and recovered by the ARZ lineman. The refs blew the call since there was no fumble to begin with. Edge cannot be credited with a TD when he clearly did not break the plane of the goal line.My take: It's a bogus play no matter how you look at it. Edge never broke the plane to score a TD, he was down before he fumbled, and to top it off the STL guy clearly had possession and was stripped of the ball by the ARZ lineman. Just give the lineman the TD and be done with it.Lastly isn't there a rule that says that the offense cannot advance the ball on a fumble? Or am I confused?
Another scenario to consider ...Watching the replay on NFL network, Eisen clearly states that it's a TD for Edge, however, Wells is getting credit. So, riddle me this, can this be scored a D/ST touchdown for Arizona? In the replay, the Rams definitely recover the "fumble", then Wells wrestles it away ... therefore, because of change of posession, he (Wells) is eligible to recover the forward fumble for a score.This seems like the only situation that would allow for another Cardinal to be credited with the TD, and, if so, will it be a D/ST score because Wells recovered it in the end zone from the Rams? :lmao:
 
The play: (3:48) 32-E.James right guard to STL 1 for 5 yards (51-W.Witherspoon). FUMBLES (51-W.Witherspoon), recovered by ARI-74-R.Wells at STL -5. TOUCHDOWN. Play Challenged by STL and Upheld. (Timeout #1 at 03:32.)The bottom line is the official ruling on the field (which was upheld with replay) was the ball was fumbled (prior to breaking the plane) and recovered by the ARZ lineman. The refs blew the call since there was no fumble to begin with. Edge cannot be credited with a TD when he clearly did not break the plane of the goal line.My take: It's a bogus play no matter how you look at it. Edge never broke the plane to score a TD, he was down before he fumbled, and to top it off the STL guy clearly had possession and was stripped of the ball by the ARZ lineman. Just give the lineman the TD and be done with it.Lastly isn't there a rule that says that the offense cannot advance the ball on a fumble? Or am I confused?
Another scenario to consider ...Watching the replay on NFL network, Eisen clearly states that it's a TD for Edge, however, Wells is getting credit. So, riddle me this, can this be scored a D/ST touchdown for Arizona? In the replay, the Rams definitely recover the "fumble", then Wells wrestles it away ... therefore, because of change of posession, he (Wells) is eligible to recover the forward fumble for a score.This seems like the only situation that would allow for another Cardinal to be credited with the TD, and, if so, will it be a D/ST score because Wells recovered it in the end zone from the Rams? :wall:
Doubtful it'll be a D/ST score as it was an offensive player that allegedly picked up the fumble. If Larry Fitzgerald had picked up the fumble for the TD, would you give Larry the TD or the D/ST?
 
The play: (3:48) 32-E.James right guard to STL 1 for 5 yards (51-W.Witherspoon). FUMBLES (51-W.Witherspoon), recovered by ARI-74-R.Wells at STL -5. TOUCHDOWN. Play Challenged by STL and Upheld. (Timeout #1 at 03:32.)The bottom line is the official ruling on the field (which was upheld with replay) was the ball was fumbled (prior to breaking the plane) and recovered by the ARZ lineman. The refs blew the call since there was no fumble to begin with. Edge cannot be credited with a TD when he clearly did not break the plane of the goal line.My take: It's a bogus play no matter how you look at it. Edge never broke the plane to score a TD, he was down before he fumbled, and to top it off the STL guy clearly had possession and was stripped of the ball by the ARZ lineman. Just give the lineman the TD and be done with it.Lastly isn't there a rule that says that the offense cannot advance the ball on a fumble? Or am I confused?
Another scenario to consider ...Watching the replay on NFL network, Eisen clearly states that it's a TD for Edge, however, Wells is getting credit. So, riddle me this, can this be scored a D/ST touchdown for Arizona? In the replay, the Rams definitely recover the "fumble", then Wells wrestles it away ... therefore, because of change of posession, he (Wells) is eligible to recover the forward fumble for a score.This seems like the only situation that would allow for another Cardinal to be credited with the TD, and, if so, will it be a D/ST score because Wells recovered it in the end zone from the Rams? :goodposting:
Doubtful it'll be a D/ST score as it was an offensive player that allegedly picked up the fumble. If Larry Fitzgerald had picked up the fumble for the TD, would you give Larry the TD or the D/ST?
No, he means that Edge fumbled, the Rams recovered then fumbled again in the scrum, with Wells recovering. I don't think this is possible because if the Rams had full posession on the ground in the endzone with a Cardinal touching them, the play would be over.
 
I think we're making too much out of this. Reggie Wells scored the TD because that's what the NFL said he did in its official box score, end of story. The ruling on the field was a fumble into the end zone recovered by Wells; the challenge simply resulted in the ruling on the field being upheld. I'm not sure where the comment that the refs ruled it was NOT a fumble is coming from because that is clearly not the case here. There were two controversies - whether Edge fumbled in the first place, and then whether if he did that the Rams recovered it first (Wells took it away from the Ram that fell on it). The call on the field was fumble and Wells TD, and since there was not enough evidence to overrule either call, Wells TD stands. Obviously, this is not a D/ST TD either since they scored the TD on offense.

 
I think we're making too much out of this. Reggie Wells scored the TD because that's what the NFL said he did in its official box score, end of story. The ruling on the field was a fumble into the end zone recovered by Wells; the challenge simply resulted in the ruling on the field being upheld. I'm not sure where the comment that the refs ruled it was NOT a fumble is coming from because that is clearly not the case here. There were two controversies - whether Edge fumbled in the first place, and then whether if he did that the Rams recovered it first (Wells took it away from the Ram that fell on it). The call on the field was fumble and Wells TD, and since there was not enough evidence to overrule either call, Wells TD stands. Obviously, this is not a D/ST TD either since they scored the TD on offense.
The controversy comes because in the NFL.com highlight from NFL Network Total Access Rich Eisen says that the refs reviewed it and they ruled that Edge scored, no fumble. I have no idea how they came to that conclusion because he wasn't even close to the endzone, but whatever.
 
I think we're making too much out of this. Reggie Wells scored the TD because that's what the NFL said he did in its official box score, end of story. The ruling on the field was a fumble into the end zone recovered by Wells; the challenge simply resulted in the ruling on the field being upheld. I'm not sure where the comment that the refs ruled it was NOT a fumble is coming from because that is clearly not the case here. There were two controversies - whether Edge fumbled in the first place, and then whether if he did that the Rams recovered it first (Wells took it away from the Ram that fell on it). The call on the field was fumble and Wells TD, and since there was not enough evidence to overrule either call, Wells TD stands. Obviously, this is not a D/ST TD either since they scored the TD on offense.
The controversy comes because in the NFL.com highlight from NFL Network Total Access Rich Eisen says that the refs reviewed it and they ruled that Edge scored, no fumble. I have no idea how they came to that conclusion because he wasn't even close to the endzone, but whatever.
So Eisen misspoke. ESPN had the Packers beating the Bears on a graphic too, but whether they won is not debatable now.I haven't seen a single box score with an Edge TD.
 
I didn't see the game, but I saw the replay. Didn't see the ref's call either...however, if he reversed the fumble, I can't see how they can give credit to wells for the TD. I'm wondering if this is just all stemming from Eisen's comment, or if the ref really did overturn the fumble. An overturned fumble = Edge TD...even if he didn't get in.

 
No TD, looks like those of us hoping for a Dead team walking reprieve won't get it....

The Elias Sports Bureau has made the following official stat changes for Week #5:

* Jon Kitna: from 4 rushes for 3 yards to 3 rushes for 1 yard.

* Jon Kitna: from 5 sacks against to 6 sacks against.

* Lions: from 20 rushes for 68 yards to 19 rushes for 66 yards.

* Marcus Washington: from 1 sack to 2 sacks.

* Redskins: from 1 sack to 2 sacks.

* Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards to 0 sacks.

* Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 2 assists to 1 assist.

* Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 1 assist.

* Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards.

 
No TD, looks like those of us hoping for a Dead team walking reprieve won't get it....The Elias Sports Bureau has made the following official stat changes for Week #5: * Jon Kitna: from 4 rushes for 3 yards to 3 rushes for 1 yard. * Jon Kitna: from 5 sacks against to 6 sacks against. * Lions: from 20 rushes for 68 yards to 19 rushes for 66 yards. * Marcus Washington: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Redskins: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards to 0 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 2 assists to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards.
OK, so I never knew they made changes on Fridays. I saw the half sack from Kampman is now credited in the game's boxscore. Will MFL.com update the game scores? This will change the outcome in one of my league's games.... anyone know.
 
No TD, looks like those of us hoping for a Dead team walking reprieve won't get it....The Elias Sports Bureau has made the following official stat changes for Week #5: * Jon Kitna: from 4 rushes for 3 yards to 3 rushes for 1 yard. * Jon Kitna: from 5 sacks against to 6 sacks against. * Lions: from 20 rushes for 68 yards to 19 rushes for 66 yards. * Marcus Washington: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Redskins: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards to 0 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 2 assists to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards.
OK, so I never knew they made changes on Fridays. I saw the half sack from Kampman is now credited in the game's boxscore. Will MFL.com update the game scores? This will change the outcome in one of my league's games.... anyone know.
Yes, MFL updates from Elias updates on Friday.BTW, thanks for posting this Bert!
 
No TD, looks like those of us hoping for a Dead team walking reprieve won't get it....The Elias Sports Bureau has made the following official stat changes for Week #5: * Jon Kitna: from 4 rushes for 3 yards to 3 rushes for 1 yard. * Jon Kitna: from 5 sacks against to 6 sacks against. * Lions: from 20 rushes for 68 yards to 19 rushes for 66 yards. * Marcus Washington: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Redskins: from 1 sack to 2 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards to 0 sacks. * Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila: from 2 assists to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 1 assist. * Aaron Kampman: from 0 to 0.5 sacks for 4.5 yards.
OK, so I never knew they made changes on Fridays. I saw the half sack from Kampman is now credited in the game's boxscore. Will MFL.com update the game scores? This will change the outcome in one of my league's games.... anyone know.
Yes, MFL updates from Elias updates on Friday.BTW, thanks for posting this Bert!
It's not automatic. Your commish has to do it manually. It all depends on your league's rules about when scores are final.
 
Sorry to Edge owners, but I'm happy to see Edge wasn't given a free TD since he was a yard short of breaking the plane.

 

Users who are viewing this thread

Back
Top